My theme for the semester is experimentation. As a first semester advanced student, each project I made has involved experimenting with new techniques, project shape, and ways to stain/glaze. The experimentation has helped me to learn what works and what does not, and how to become a better advanced ceramicist. 

            Throughout the semester, I have made many projects to fulfill the advanced requirements. I have made many vases of varying size and shape, a few plates, a pitcher, a lidded project, and a multi wheel cake stand.

            The process of making these projects consisted of centering (a great struggle of mine!), diving in, pulling up, choking, flaring lips, compression, footing, bisquing, staining, and glazing.

These projects are a great manifestation of my theme of experimentation.

            When looking at some of my n00b projects compared to advanced ones, there is obvious growth. This growth has been attained through all of my experimentation. Most of this experimentation happened with glazing and staining. This semester, I tried to new combinations of glaze and stain, I have used different colors and thicknesses, I have learned what glazes and stains look good together. I recently tried out some taping on a plate, making a clear cross shape in the dark green of the project. I also experimented with angles in shape and glaze. My theme matters because it is my first year of advanced and my lack of experience and limited knowledge makes everything an experiment. All of my projects this year have been a growth and learning experience.






Leave a Reply.